Cuvilliés-Theatre – in Residenz Munich
The Cuvilliés Theatre, named after its creator François Cuvilliés the Elder, was built between 1751 and 1755 for the Bavarian Elector Max III Joseph. It was destroyed in the Second World War, but the unique South German Rococo style interior had been removed beforehand and stored in a safe place. It was subsequently installed in the so-called Apothecary Block and the theatre was inaugurated in 1958 and reopened in 2008 after comprehensive restoration.
Last admission one hour before the stated closing time.
Cuvilliés-Theater – in der Residenz München
General information on opening hours can be found on the website.
telephone: +49(0)89 – 290671
email: ResidenzMuenchen@ bsv.bayern.de
subway: 3, 4, 5, 6 Odeonsplatz
bus: 100 Odeonsplatz
tram: 19 Nationaltheater
tariff zone: inner area